Stock Market Advice

Discussion in 'Sagebrush Ranch Carson City Forum' started by EmberSolaris, Jan 26, 2024.

1. I started a stock market portfolio, who would you guys recommend looking into?

LittleLexxi likes this.
  2. For brokerage I would go with a known company. I use UBS and Fidelity. If you are asking about types of mutual funds I would go with something like US Large Cap Growth Index Fund, US Large Cap Value Index Fund or Nasdaq Composite Index Fund. When you do any funds you want to look at two main things. 1) what has the fund done over the last 5 to 10 years and 2) what fees are you charged. Also make sure you diversify your portfolio. I hope this helps. If you have any questions please ask. I have been investing in the market for 40 years.

LittleLexxi and EmberSolaris like this.
  3. Lunch Buffett
    Chat with Me

Lunch Buffett Well-Known Member

To learn about investing, I like to recommend the book "The Guru Investor" by John Reese. It recreates the investing strategies of 9 of the most successful mutual fund managers and Warren Buffett.

If you don't want to manage individual stocks, you could look into Wisdom Tree ETFs. Their ETFs use metrics to buy stocks of companies that are doing well. During the rebalancing period, they sell companies that haven't done well and buy companies that are doing better.

I have a fetish for dividends. There's something magical about getting a small payment every month, quarter or yearly. I have it set to reinvest so that it buys more of itself at the current price. One of my favorite dividends stock is Realty Income (Ticker: O) which pays a monthly dividend. I'm just starting to acquire shares of Digital Realty Trust, which builds data centers.

LittleLexxi and EmberSolaris like this.
  4. Old Nick
    Chat with Me

Old Nick Well-Known Member

I use two investment apps.